esSJae's Virtualization Blog

Virtualization and other IT topics

A VirtualBox in a VirtualBox

Posted by essjae on October 7, 2009


It’s very interesting.  I have VBox 3 installed on both my laptop and desktop.  I find I somewhat prefer it to VM Ware for Linux OSes.  I installed LinuxMint 7 (LM7) ( http://www.linuxmint.com/), which is a great Linux OS for beginners, better than Ubuntu, I think. 

Anyway, I had just set up a new physical Linux box with SimplyMepis and was having a lot of troubles getting VBox 3 installed due to various pre-reqs.  I decided to see if I could install it any easier in LM7, so I fired up my LM7 VBox on Win7 host (i7@3.64GHz), installed VBox again, and then installed XP in VBox in LM7 in Win7!  Performance was ok,  usable, menus are snappy.   (My LM7 VM has 2GB RAM, and 2CPUs).  One CPU for results in a days long installation.

(VBox 3.0.8 is now available: http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads )

Leave a Reply

 
