esSJae's Virtualization Blog

Virtualization and other IT topics

Stopping Windows 7 auto-restart after Windows Updates

Posted by essjae on October 21, 2009


I don’t mind Windows Updates, but I do mind Windows deciding that its time to restart my computer for me (I left the computer on with those windows open for a reason…)

You can disable this “feature” via Group Policy. 

  1. Run gpedit.msc
  2. Click Administrative Templates under Computer Configuration
  3. Click to expand Windows Components
  4. Go to Windows Update and enable No auto-restart with logged on users for scheduled automatic update installations

For those of you that don’t have Pro, Ultimate, or Enterprise:

In Windows Update, click on change settings. Under Important Updates, select ‘Download updates but let me choose whether to install them’

5 Responses to “Stopping Windows 7 auto-restart after Windows Updates”

  1. Greatful Reader said

    Thank you for this fast, simple explanation.

  2. john said

    How is this even acceptable? I was in the middle of doing something in a full screen app, when suddenly my computer decides it’s time to restart. No dialog box (maybe there was one, but it didn’t show up in the foreground…), it just quit my program, and began shutting down while “configuring updates.” I understand Windows wants to be better at security, but restarting my computer for me while I’m in the middle of something is absurd! I may as well have a virus if that’s going to happen!

  3. justin said

    How about a non-gpedit.msc version? Not all of us can afford (or think it’s worth it) to get Ultimate, etc. version of Win7 just to get gpedit.msc.

  4. Daniella said

    Thanks!!!

  5. Jeff said

    AMAZING! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
