esSJae's Virtualization Blog

Virtualization and other IT topics

Installing VirtualBox 3 in LinuxMint/Ubuntu

Posted by essjae on November 15, 2009


I have a second computer set up as a triple boot system (LinuxMint 7 x64, Utlimate Linux 2.3 x64, and Windows 7 Pro x64).

After installing VBox 3 inside VBox 3 running on my main Win7 system.  I thought I’d install VBox on my native LinuxMint system.

I thought I’d just downloaded and installed VBox, but alas, that simple 1-step operation is still missing (at least for VBox) with Linux.

There’s a good set of steps for doing this here: Installing VirtualBox 3.0 on an Ubuntu 9.04 Desktop

It’s not difficult, but you can’t right-click your .deb file and just install with Archive Manager or GDebi.  LinuxMint does provide a simple install if you want to go all the way back to version 2 of VBox.

Next step:  adding my Windows server shares to Linux.

Leave a Reply

 
